Click Here

HSU selects 7 to Athletics Hall of Fame

ARCATA, Calif. – Humboldt State athletics will induct six former student-athletes and one administrator into the Athletics Hall of Fame this fall. The 2017 class includes two-sport star Tom DiMercurio, football standout Todd Eagle, former athletic director Chuck Lindemenn, track All-American Jasper Peach, softball National Champion Terry Marroquin, track All-American Megan Rolland and softball National Champion Marissa Slattery.


The Class of 2017 will be inducted on Friday, Oct. 13 as part of HSU’s homecoming festivities. Honorees will also be recognized at halftime of the Oct. 14 Azusa Pacific football game. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT.


A two-sport standout with the football and baseball programs, DiMercurio wore the Green and Gold on the diamond from 1961-64. He was a First Team All-Far West Conference outfielder for the HSU baseball team in 1964. DiMercurio was the baseball team’s MVP for three seasons. He played shortstop for three seasons and spent one season in the outfield. He was the team’s leading hitter in 1964 (.360) and 1962 (.347) and served as team captain for two years. His team finished second in the conference during his senior season. DiMercurio suited up for the Green and Gold football team for two seasons (1959 and 1961).


Eagle, a defensive lineman for the Lumberjacks during the 2004 and 2006 seasons, was exceptional on and off the field. He was a First Team Academic All-American (2006) and graduated with a 3.902 GPA. He remains the only male student-athlete in Humboldt State history to receive the prestigious award. Eagle was an All-Region and Second Team all-NCAA Independents selection during the 2006 season. Eagle’s team was 9-1 during his senior season, and he finished his career with 86 tackles, 23 tackles for loss and 11.5 sacks.


Lindemenn guided the Jacks to great success during his 10 years (1985-95) as the athletic department’s top administrator. He began the Celebrity Dinner and Sports Auction in 1986, an event that continues today and has raised more than $4.5 million.Lindemenn served on the NCAA Executive Committee and ushered in varsity status for women’s rowing and soccer programs with Title IX in the mid 1990s. He spearheaded a graduate program that flourished for more than a decade that allowed graduate students to serve as assistant coaches and athletic trainers.


After captaining the HSU softball team to a 1999 National Championship, Marroquin etched her name among the all-time greats. The talented shortstop batted .400 during her senior season and was a member of the All-National Tournament Team. She earned All-Region honors in 1997 and was an All-NCAC award winner during the 1997 and 1998 campaigns.


Peach competed at the highest levels during his five years representing the HSU track and field and cross country programs. He earned All-American honors for the steeplechase in 2008 (third place) and 2006 (eighth place). Peach was an All-Region selection in cross country during the 2004 and 2007 seasons, and he collected All-Great Northwest Athletic Conference awards in 2005 and 2004. He placed fourth at the conference meet both years. He was a conference champion in the 10,000 meters in 2008.


A 2010 All-American in the steeplechase and a three-time national qualifier, Rolland established records that will remain in the program top 10 for years to come. Her 10:27.77 finish in the steeplechase was the top mark until the 2015 season. She was a two-time conference champion in the steeplechase and earned 2009 All-Region honors for cross country. Rolland balanced success on and off the field, and she captured the California Collegiate Athletic Association Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year award in 2010. She was also an all-conference selection in cross country.


Slattery was a four-year starter at catcher during the 2006-09 softball seasons. She was a consensus All-American in 2009 and earned All-American honors in 2007. Slattery picked up Daktronics All-Region awards in 2009, 2008 and 2007, and was a two-time First Team All-CCAA (2009 and 2008) selection. Her team won the National Championship in 2008 and captured three conference championships during her career. She ranks 10th all-time in career doubles (45), third in single-season doubles (20 in 2008), and she logged the most career games of any catcher in program history (254).


HSU Sports Information