New officers, staff sworn into Eureka Police Department

Get flash to see this video, or turn javascript back on

There are some new faces at the Eureka Police Department.


At a special ceremony Wednesday at Eureka City Hall, three new officers; Ryan McElroy, Stephen Linfoot, and Ben Omey, were sworn in. Also welcomed to the department were new communications manager Michelle Sanchez, Police Services Officers Theodore Blizzard and DeAnna McGraw, dispatcher Mary Clark, and public records specialist Sharon King.


“It's been a place I’ve always wanted to live in after visiting back in the 90’s so I took the opportunity to make the move and here I am,” said newly sworn officer Stephen Linfoot after the ceremony.


“I feel really good,” said Officer Ben Omey, “I’m proud to be from Eureka and I’ve had a great experience so far with the Eureka Police Department and I’m looking forward to serving the community.”


“It’s what I’ve wanted to do since I was a kid,” said new officer Ryan McElroy, “Now I’m out there finally doing what I love to do and I have all my family and friends behind me to support me.”


Badges were pinned onto the new officers by family, friends, and Chief Murl Harpham.